Too Early to Say

Posted: November 7, 2013 in creative writing, Everyday Life
Tags: ,

As I sit here at 4:30 AM, (the real O Dark 30) wishing it was 5:30, many things roll across my mind.

The first thing, I wish I hadn’t reset the time on my coffee pot, the coffee would be brewed by now and freshly waiting for me. The second, who gives a damn, I’m on vacation this week. I can get up now and pretend it is 5:30. If I get sleepy at 9:30PM I will just sack out “early”.

leavesb205532260So, I’m up and at ’em this morning, I’ll use the hour writing. It is darker than hell outdoors, foggy air and frosty on the cars. I think this is the first frost of the fall. The leaves are dropping off of even the most late losing trees. It has been a beautiful few weeks. I can’t remember a year when the trees all changed colors in such unison. It is truly a bright-colored fall like we only imagine it should be.  This time of year is usually not my favorite season but this year I see it differently. There is something in the air with this changing, I wish I could burn a few leaves. You remember burning leaves don’t you? But the strong southern winds of this region prevents us from starting fires. I will try to absorb as much of it as I can, smokeless.

Today is haircut day. I will stop by my town’s sole real barber shop. Tom’s Barber Shop, no appointments necessary. I’m afraid he will retire soon. Oh, we have other places to get a haircut here, but they are in “beauty shops” or salons. I have trouble going to a salon to get a trim or styling. Although the barbers, pronounced “girl stylists”, usually smell much better than Tom. And it is much more arousing I must say, having a strange woman running their fingers through my hair.  No nonsense like that goes on in Tom’s barber chair. You sit down, take off the glasses and he has right at it. Very little talk about hair, styles or shampoo is exchanged. We just talk about grandkids’ sports, city politics or where I’ve been working out-of-town. These are very short conversations, Tom’s a fast hair cutter. I usually get out of there in less than 30 or 45 minutes, depending on how well-behaved the fathers’ 3 or 4-year-old kid is ahead of me. Lots of kids get their first haircut at Tom’s. Some like the place as much as me but some think they are being tortured. The screamers will probably be taken by mom to the beauty shop next door for their next trim , poor little guys. They may never know what it’s like in a real barber shop again.

So that will be my morning, on days off, that’s as much as you should plan. The last thing I need are schedules to keep on my few unplanned vacations days from work.

The rest of the day I will take it as it happens. I will go so far as to plan to relax, just soak up the season and enjoy what I hope will be just a sunny warming fall day.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. We are well into stick season, here, and still waiting for snow. Halloween was shirtsleeve warm -yesterday was, also, for that matter.

    I love the darkness in the mornings and in the evenings, as long as I don’t have to drive. All my clocks are an hour off (laughing) which can be most inconvenient if I have to be somewhere on time. I keep a book in my purse for just such occassions.

    life must be ESPECIALLY good, if daylight savings time is the annoyance of the day/week/season. Yay.

    S.

    Like

    • Hi S! You are right, DST is trivial and life is indeed good, but one of my favorite quotes is by the famous French pilot Antoine de Saint-Exupery: “I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things”

      I guess my notable quote may be ” I write of petty things because it releases my mind of the tyranny of real life and reminds me that I need to fly more often.” 🙂 lol

      So very good to hear from you!

      Like

  2. I thought it was just me who enjoys a girl stylist….
    😀

    Like

  3. I remember burning leaves.
    Fall is my favorite season, but there is a poignancy and sadness to it…I try to remember that the “death” of leaves (etc) in the Fall help in the process which brings new life and beauty in the Spring.
    Hope you are doing well.
    HUGS!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

