E, Uncaged on Car Salesmen

Posted: November 20, 2013 in creative writing, Everyday Life
Tags: , , , , ,

fishes I’m sitting here letting my bowl of luke warm chilli digest and I am thinking back to an old failed TV  show called “Real Deal”. Do you remember it? Is it still on the air?

Well, here’s the deal. A poor bastard drags in what he feels is a beautiful priceless item to sell, like a sword, slot machine or an elephant molar. He thinks it’s worth a million bucks. There’s a dealer there that specializes in that particular item and he makes the guy an offer for it. They deal back and forth a few passes and the seller has to decide to sell to the dealer or he can take it to an auction to try to get more cash. Sometimes they take it to auction and do well. Sometimes they don’t even get what the dealer offers. Sometimes they win, sometimes they lose. Interesting show. Watching them dicker back and forth insulting each other is surprisingly entertaining.

Cash on the barrel head or the suspense of auction? That was the thrill of the show. It was on the air maybe 4 episodes, a real winner.

Sometimes I like to deal back and forth but now that I am older, the less I like screwing with it. Even trading cars, I feel , just tell me what the hell you want for it and I’ll tell you yes or no. If you want to sell it, you better shoot me a fair price or I’m out the door. I just don’t have the patience for it anymore. And another thing, I’m not there to make a new friend with the fucking salesman either. These days, ten minutes searching on the internet and you know what a fair price is for any model car on the market. Surely they know this? You can find out the dealer cost, markup of a new car and all the options. Before you walk in their cheap assed buzzer ringing door you can know the fair trade-in price of your used car. There is no point in dickering anymore. One offer from the dealer and you can know if he’s full of shit or not. The whole process pisses me off!

Does anybody still feel we need to bargain back and forth to purchase a car anymore? Like it’s some kind of mental foreplay with the frickin’ slick eared salesman. In this day and age are we still expected to try to make that Real Deal or get screwed by some slimy new car dealer?

End of rant, screw it!

E.

(Sorry, I let E out of the cage again)

Comments
  1. I don’t remember that show.

    Buying cars is one of my least favorite things to do! The salespeople (usually a man) always makes me feel dumb and poor…ha…and like I don’t know what I’m doing…and when I’m made to feel like this…guess what?…no sale, no way, Dude!!! 🙂 I’m outa’ there! 🙂

    Good rant, E., and I agree with you. What is the point of the dickering anymore.

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

