The Long Walk

Posted: November 21, 2013 in creative writing, Everyday Life, free verse, poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

I have felt the ache of hard work
the dull bore of endless rows
I can erase the remaining harvest from my thoughts

I feel the dirt

Only on bent knees and back and cramped neck
Can I peek up to see the horizon
The sun tells me the time
the cool breeze my rest
Warm water from my belt quenches my thirst
but stirs my empty stomach
Silently I work only for Saturday’s pay
and Sunday’s short afternoon.

I plan the long walk

There will be no kindness of strangers
And only uncertain rides
But I will go home and hope it will still be there.

DSS

1/28/2012

Comments
  1. The word pictures in this are vivid. And it stirs up the senses…tasting the wet and warm of the water…feeling the cool breeze against sweaty skin…aching in the body…feeling the dirt…EXCELLENT write! 🙂
    It makes me think of the books I’ve read about the migrants and slaves who picked cotton. Also reminds brings the book The Painted House to mind.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

