This Week’s “Now”

Posted: February 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

Last weekend , on my personal car’s Toyota 4-Runner dashboard, I got a Key Error light, then a Maintenance light, then a Check engine light and then later a ASC Trac light. And I just thought I was due for an oil change, but it looks like I may be going to get greased and screwed also.

This week I was served by a bartender named Sam, really, Sam the Bartender. That has to be a good omen.

This week for additional warmth I bought a heavy cotton hoodie to wear under my FRC coveralls the next day. It looked so nice when I tried it on I went ahead and wore the hoodie to dinner that evening. Before dinner we stopped at Best Buy looking for a new computer bag. A very nice computer backpack caught my eye. I’ve never used a backpack before so I bought it. It looked so nice I left it on my back as we walked back to the car. My 30 something coworker said ” Wearing that hoodie and backpack, you look 10 or 15 years younger”.  That made me chuckle, and I bought his dinner. If I’d only known, I would have bought that combination years ago.

I ordered a coffee to go at a restaurant this week and as the waitress handed me the full cup she says “I’m not charging you for the coffee, it’s totally cold”. I love waitresses, I know they have a hard job and just smiled and said thank you.  But was I supposed to take the free cold coffee anyway? I took it with me, discreetly put it in the parking lot trash can and had the best chuckle of the day week.

I arrived home this week anxious to see my visiting 15-year-old granddaughter. She and my wife picked me up for the short ride home. She now has red hair! , really…..Candy Apple Red hair. I love her, she’s beautiful! She wants to be a cosmetologist.
She is learning to drive and has completed her driver’s training but still only has her learner’s permit. She asked if she could drive the car to our home. Of course, I gave her a little of a hard time asking if she really knew how to drive, she said ” Oh, I’m an excellent driver, really excellent!”.  I asked her if she had ever seen the movie “Rain Man”. She had not and had no idea what I was talking about. It seems “excellent driver” has become a common part of the central Kansas vernacular. And she really is an excellent driver.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. Hmm…I’ve been greased and screwed, but I think it’s different than what may happen to you.
    Did your car get fixed yet? That’s a lot of lights coming on!

    Sam! Cool! Did everybody know YOUR name?!

    Ha! Who knew a backpack and hoodie takes 15 years off a persons look! 😉 You need to market that concept to people over 40 and make some $$$!

    Cold coffee in Winter? Now, I don’t think that’s worth marketing. 😉

    Ha! That is so cute about what your granddaughter said! 🙂 And I love that you used a movie line reference…I do that to people all the time and most of the time they have no clue what I’m talking about. It’s still fun. 😀

    I wish your granddaughter well in her dream to be a cosmetologist! You should let her work on your hair! 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

