From a Red Pony to Rocinante

Posted: February 27, 2014 in authors
Tags:

Steinbeck“There ain’t no sin and there ain’t no virtue. There’s just stuff people do. It’s all part of the same thing. And some of the things folks do is nice, and some ain’t nice, but that’s as far as any man got a right to say.” Grapes of Wrath

There are a lot of foods out there that are called “comfort foods”. Foods that make you feel at home no matter where you are at. We each have our favorites, you know what they are. Some of the favorites I’ve heard of from my friends are fried chicken, beans and corn bread, home-made ice cream, just to name a few. But theย comfort food I think is the best to settle into on that stormy winter day is anything Steinbeck.

Happy birthday John Steinbeck

JohnDistantShipSmoke&E

Comments
  1. Happy Birthday to Mr. Steinbeck!
    His words have taught me a lot.
    Yes, a book of his is like comfort food! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great comparison! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Weirdly I needed these words today. Too long a story to go into. But, Thank you. Interesting how even when someone doesn’t know what another person is going through, they say the words that person needs to hear. ๐Ÿ™‚

    That quote from The Grapes of Wrath is one of my favorites!
    I think he’s saying that criticism/judgment and compassion can’t coexist….if we judge people we aren’t usually compassionate concerning their needs/problems. I try to make sure the only person I judge is myself. I don’t know “the whole story” of anyone’s life and pain and struggles so I am not the one to judge them and their actions.

    HUGS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. I guess I like the quote because it is about the simplest answer for why there is good and bad. It’s just stuff people do. Some are nice and some aren’t. To analyze it further is not only a waste of time because we don’t know all the facts, and it is hypocritical and judgmental. Jim Casey, as a preacher says this, sort of blows a hole wide open through the religion he is supposed to be promoting but has given up on.
    Glad the words meant something to you today C. I agree with you.
    Thanks for the comments. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

