Born Naked, Wet and Hungry

Posted: April 11, 2014 in Birthdays, Everyday Life

 

April 12,2010

Years ago I made a deal with my work world, every year schedule me the day off on my birthday. It has worked for a number of years. On just two occasions in the last so many years, I was unable to have it off. Three years ago and today.

So here I sit in an airport, waiting for a plane to Houston, on my Birthday. On the hour of my birth, I will be at 40,000 feet, -40 degrees F and going 600 mph, with the only thing between me and death, a 12 inch square of Plexiglass 1/2 inch thick. It’s mind boggling that I would want to be anywhere else.

So, I get to spend the day traveling. I will be fed well this evening and probably will have a few free rounds provided by my boss. So I ain’t complainin’!

But at this moment, I would prefer to be home, sitting in my skivies, drinking coffee and watching my front yard grass turn green and waiting for the mail lady to bring a birthday card or two.

But at 12:00 noon today, think of me with my nose pressed tight against that 1/2″ thick window and watching a spectacular view. I guess I’m getting a hell of a plane ride for my birthday this year!

DSS

April 11, 2014

I wrote that 4 years ago. Guess what, today I’m sitting in my skivies, drinking coffee and watching the front yard grass turn green, waiting for the mail lady to bring a birthday card or two. Exactly where I want to be. My birthday fell on a Saturday this year so I get a three day weekend. I’m starting early!

I love my birthday. I really look forward to it each year. I am always glad that I’ve made it another 365 days.

This morning, at home, I received an Email on the Blackberry from the Work World Boss at 07:23 AM . It began “I hope you are not reading this today but if you are, Happy Birthday!!!” and then proceeded to ask me about communications tower lighting and marking.  Anyway I love my job and answered the email and the questions he needed answered.

As I sit here this morning in my skivvies, waiting for the mail lady to deliver all of my birthday cards, I wonder, ‘have I worked on my birthday’?

I don’t think I’ll count it. I think the labor laws are very clear. If you can answer an email for work on a handheld device while you are home, sitting in your underwear, drinking coffee, watching from your front window a freshly loaded spray plane smoothly take off and listening as the roar of the 600 horsepower radial engine and prop change pitch as it transitions from earth bound to flight, you are pretty much off work.

The rest of the day I will do exactly as I please, I will be selfish today, I am allowed. The one day of the year that you are allowed. I will try not to think about the addition of a year to my age or the length to my longevity.

My wife has dug out this photo on my birthday a couple of times. It was taken a few years ago. But I do feel the same age and that it may have just been taken only yesterday.

Johns_Home

DSS

 

Comments
  1. OH MY GOSH!!! 😛 YAY!!! 🙂 YIPPEE!!! 😀 YAHOOOOIE!!! 🙂
    Happy happy happy happy happy HAPPY Birthday!!! 🙂
    I LOVE birthdays!!! 🙂
    I hope you have a wonderful, joy-filled fun, sweet-memory 3-day weekend birthday!!! 😀
    ( Ha! I always try to celebrate mine for a week! 😉 )
    You are the ⭐ this whee-kend! So enjoy! 🙂
    Birthday HUGS!!! and ❤ !!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BTW: I love your title! 😀 Ha! 2 outa’ 3 of those wouldn’t be bad for your birthday…oh, jeez….why not all 3!!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahahahaha! I could have a pretty good weekend in Las Vegas just taking care of all three of those needs, couldn’t I. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Birthday. Very glad you get to watch the grass green, today. Have a second cup of coffee and enjoy your day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

