Several Billion Cells

Posted: June 24, 2014 in Everyday Life

Life is a whim of several billion cells to be you for a while.  ~Author Unknown

To that quote I add this.

Several Billion Cells

As my cells group to make me who I am each day
I feed them, give them air, water, shelter and transportation
I am the vehicle for the DNA to satisfy their sexual urge to survive
I think I am in control
but really I am cursed to be at the whim of billions of cells.
And I think I am only as one, an island
As I care for my army of cells each day
I ignore their multitude and only think of me not we
I think I am coordinating my efforts
but I am only the result of their needs
Is it for my sanity or the need of the whole
that they allow me to think I have a soul?
Is that the false hope, the vapor that holds me together?

DSS

 

Comments
  1. Good questions! Good thoughts! Great poem! Things I’ve thought about several billion times (well, probably not that many! 😉 )
    I think, in some respects, we ARE at the whim of our cells.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

