S.O.S.

Posted: July 30, 2014 in creative writing, Everyday Life
Tags:

deleteLost in the great ether of WordPress. It probably was more like saved by the great ether. I worked for an hour last night writing a new blog entry. Pictures and everything. I should’a but I didn’t SOS. That is “Save Often Stupid”. That is an axiom from the old days of the 80’s of dealing with more finicky and memory challenged computers.

My blog was brilliant. I even used the word – pontificating. I’ve been waiting months to use that word. I could have gone on for hours justifying its use. After the entire entry was lost, I realized I could not recreate it with the same punch as the original. I really couldn’t remember half of what I had written so brilliantly. So I have found another writing axiom, which is “If your new blog entry is accidentally deleted and you can’t remember more than half of what you had originally written, then the entry probably wasn’t worth reading anyway.” (that is really too long for an axiom, it should be “if all is deleted then screw it!”).

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. gpcox says:

    You don’t really sound all that upset about it – I’m glad you could take it so well. I used to try and adhere to a schedule and I would barely hang on – until the day I lost my post! It took me forever to put a similar one together and I’ve been off-schedule ever since – but it appears everything works out for the best!

    Like

    • Nope, not upset. It just took longer to post something. And what I finally wrote probably got just as many if not more views. Thanks for commenting, I’m enjoying your War Journals and pictures.

      Like

  2. Aw. I’m so sorry. 😦 I hate when that happens. 😦
    I finally started typing my blogs on my computer, saving them, and then just copying and pasting them to WP and then adding the photos.
    I wonder are all those lost blogs are floating around in blog-heaven some where?! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
    PS…BTW: You have a great axiom!!!
    PSS…that was supposed to be a funny play on words! πŸ˜€
    PSSS…not sure if it translated. Butt, it was fanny…er…ah…funny in my head! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know I’m probably being Captain Obvious here, but did you look in your drafts? WP automatically drops backups in there when you get cut off.
    I’m sorry if you really did lose it — I HATE that.

    Like

    • Nope Cap’t. That’s what I thought, too. But there is a very specific set of circumstances which you must follow in this precise order to lose all of your work.
      1) Unknowingly wrap the laptop power cord around your socked foot
      2) Ignore fact that I need a new battery for my laptop for the last 6 months.
      3) Don’t save my work periodically as I write
      4) Get up to retrieve the TV clicker that has fallen on the floor 2 inches out of reach.
      5) Pull the power cord from the outlet with one foot jerk which immediately turns off the computer
      6) Spill Coke Cola into my previously removed shoe.

      Those 6 steps will cause you to lose your painstakingly written and brilliant never to be matched work. I wouldn’t suggest that you try this. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • ACK — I just did that yesterday !!!
        Wait, it was Pepsi.
        Never mind. πŸ˜€

        Like

        • I think WordPress is trying out a new editor. When I start a new post now I get sort of a modified version of the editor. It starts up with “Beep Beep Boop” written on the screen before it gives me the editor screen. I don’t think this new editor saves a draft automatically. If I save the post, view it and then press edit from my home screen I get the old editor back to do my editing. Which editor do you get when you start a new post?

          Like

        • When I start from my dash board, I get the same one as always….

          …. that sounds kinda weird what you’re getting.

          I’ll keep an eye out for any changes, now, though.

          Like

        • I usually don’t start from the dashboard. I usually start from Manage Your Blogs. I’ll try the dashboard next time. I like the “old” editor the best.

          Like

        • Yes, I don’t like to change stuff like that once I’m used to it…. I don’t want to constantly relearn software. πŸ˜€

          Like

        • Me either. I just tried it from the dashboard. It uses the “old” editor if you pick it from the left side of the screen. If you choose New Post from the top of the screen on the Menu bar, you get the new editor and Beep Beep Boop. LOL.

          Like

  4. Johnd85 says:

    Merely a smiling visitor here to share the adore , btw outstanding style. Audacity, more audacity and always audacity. by Georges Jacques Danton. cbdfakkebdec

    Like

Leave a Reply

