Ignite It

Posted: August 7, 2014 in free verse, poetry
Tags: ,

It’s time to rid the page of the negative
and gently scribe the positive.
Somewhere deep within the jelly of the mind and skull,
shaking there, quivering there within it.
A small spark is firing,
a spark waiting to be fueled,
igniting a more good thought.
The combustible will come from outside it.
It will be a kind word,
the purr of a cat,
or noticing the beauty of young unblemished skin.
The fuel is everywhere.
Let that small moist spark ignite it.

DSS

Comments
  1. I wish to do the same but it never works out constructively, for me.
    Brilliantly written, specially the last two line. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh! This brought joy-tears to my eyes.
    I love it! Your words are so true, and woven together so beautifully!
    I read A LOT of poetry…and this is one of the best poems I’ve read in a long time! Thank you for writing this! I might be stopping by to reread and reread.
    I have friend I need to read this poem to. He needs to hear your words.
    As a “glass is half full” and “it will be filled up soon” person, I am for ridding the negatives and scribing the positives!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sometimes the smallest things can have the largest impact. 🙂

    Like

  4. Marcia says:

    Does this mean I can get a kitten?

    Like

Leave a Reply

