Dog Days

Posted: August 8, 2014 in creative writing, Everyday Life
Tags:

Dog Days
1 : the period between early July and early September when the hot sultry weather of summer usually occurs in the northern hemisphere
2 : a period of stagnation or inactivity

The Dog Days of Summer. That’s where we are in time and space, the Dog Days. In my space and at my latitude the corn is just starting to naturally dry. Kids will be walking to school soon, some enthusiastically, some more reluctantly. The drone of the air conditioner is still common, continuous and mostly unnoticed. The morning rains are light and the winds are southern. Weather only reaches boiling point in late afternoon when the sun, the breeze and what little moisture in the air mix into a concoction of violent storms. Then afterwards turns into sultry heat before the sun starts to go down.

Summer projects should now be well underway and reaching completion, certainly if not started by now they will soon be kicked out of the schedule, whether it’s for new pavement, back porch or swimming pool. I get the sense of winding down, although I’m as busy now as anytime of the year. But the sense of having finally settled into the year is dominant and the realization that we, with just a little more luck, have probably made it through another 12 months. People have just learned to slow down and tolerate the heat but must soon ramp up and prepare for the hustle and bustle of school activities. Those with and without children are thinking about what fall will bring and are instinctively musing of exchanging mower for rake and later snow shovel. The smart ones are preparing for winter. If we were squirrels, we would be starting to work at a feverish pace.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. Excellent write! This got me all nostalgic. So many memories from childhood and the Dog Days. Some good, some not-so-good. But, all important. 🙂
    I’ve always loved hot August nights (me and Neil D.)…there is just something about them that is exciting to me. And I don’t mind a good sweat! 😀
    Wow! This summer is flying by…but, I so enjoy Autumn, that I’m thinking now about it’s colors and smells and tastes and sounds…sigh.
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Cooper says “Every day of the year is a Dog Day!” 😉 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now you planted that “Song Sung Blue” ear-worm in my head for all day! 😐 Yes, the Dog Days were much more memorable back then with no air conditioning. Laying neek-ked sweating with the twisted sheets wrapped around my legs. :/

      I’m sure Cooper enjoys one day as much as the other. 😀

      Like

      • Ha! On the sleeping w/o AC! 😀 Not funny, really, but I laughed, because I remember those days at my house growing up.
        Ha! on the song ear-worm! Switch it to Sweet Caroline! 😀
        Yes, Coop enjoys every day and he brings joy to me every day!
        Happy Sat-Day!!! 🙂

        Like

  2. I like that squirrel reference especially !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

