Where We Are

Posted: August 22, 2014 in Everyday Life

I travel and work alone most of the time. Because of this I can usually set my own schedule, particularly, what I do on my own time. I eat when I want, start and stop work when I want. And I travel by what ever means I want and take what ever route I feel is best between assignments. It is a pretty nice job but there are , like most jobs, many pressures when I arrive on site. But I can make my free time as good as I want.

Who ever said, “my job is hours of boredom only interrupted by moments of sheer terror” knew what he was talking about. I have one of those jobs. But since we all have different types of jobs, my idea of sheer terror and how long it lasts is probably different from a doctor’s or the Maytag repairman’s. And it seems the hours of boredom keep getting shorter. I’m not at war or a fireman rescuing people from burning buildings but there are days I wish my job involved only that. After all, mental terror can be the worse terror of them all. It all comes down to that, whether fighting fires or doing whatever the hell it is they call what the rest of us do. We all want our job to be important and it can come down to a point where much money and many people are depending on our skills, knowledge and mental prowess. It is when “we are put on the spot” and all of the attention is on us that we need that hard mental shield that protects us from the sheerness of our terrors. But when the job is done and the terror has subsided, we need to know how to take down that mental shield or at least make it a little thinner. That’s why I like working alone.

When you travel and work alone and the job for the day is done, you don’t have to keep reliving it by talking about it over again with a coworker that you probably will be having dinner with that night. If you are staying in the same hotel, you may even have to talk about work the next morning at breakfast. This year, I have at least tried to stay at a different hotel than my coworkers if possible. I need the distance to help remove that work mental shell during the off hours. I do not like talking about work during meals, especially at all three meals of the day. At lunch I may talk about it but only after we evaluate the waitress, choose the sandwich and get a couple of glasses of unsweetened iced tea down our throat. And usually by that time it’s time to get back to work anyway. I’m not really an asshole, I just want to enjoy my time away from work. My last dying words and I’ll bet yours too are not going to be “Boy, I wish I’d spent more time talking about work”. I will probably have many more important regrets than that.

The first regret will probably be “wish I’d spent more time at home” or with the kids on their birthdays or at their school functions. After that if I have enough breath left, maybe I will be saying, “I spent all that time on the road and in the air and I didn’t talk more to the strangers I met” or took more pictures or shook more hands. Or maybe I will wish I’d found out more about that hotel clerk I walked past each day instead of only saying  “good morning” as I rushed by. Maybe they will have that same regret. But this is not about regrets, it’s about learning how to spend our free time.

We will all have plenty of regrets later. This has been about learning how to change the subject when work comes up in our free time conversations. It has been about not being in such a rush to get to work that you don’t talk more to those strangers you run into each morning. Maybe this has been about taking the road less traveled in between those work assignments. If we can’t be at home, we really should make the most of where we are.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    Absolutely DSS – life goes on around us way too quickly, whether we are engaged or not 🙂
    Enjoyed the post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, so true! 🙂 As always, your thoughts are right on and are thought-provoking! 🙂
    That last sentence…I’ve tried to live by that sentiment. I want everywhere I “land”, even if for just a few minutes, to be a better, happier place because I was there.
    HUGS!!! Happy Whee-kend!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

