At the Movies

Posted: September 9, 2014 in movies

“Dirt in the fuel line, just blowed it away!”.

I love movies, old or new! I can watch them anywhere, the theater, home DVD, on television or DVD on my laptop. My favorite ones, I can watch over and over again. They just have to be run with no commercials and nothing censored. Only the director’s cut with no editing and only in the original display ratio and format will do. If it’s an R rated film, I want it left as an R. If it is a black and white film, leave it black and white, goddamn it! I’m just waiting for some stupid SOB to colorize “The Last Picture Show” or “Citizen Kane”. I will hunt him down, I promise! And his last words won’t be “Rosebud” !

I’m cautious about PG-13. Not always but PG-13 usually makes me sick. PG-13 should mean written, filmed and marketed for the 13-14 year old male teenage mentality. In other words, usually, but not always, crap. They will contain car chases with fruit stand crashes, unrealistic cops and robbers, unrealistic violence and non-revealing tease sex. I’m very careful when choosing a PG-13 movie. PG-13 can mean rated G for the giggling teenager. PG-13 may mean that the producer and director have no balls.

That said, I will get back to what I really want to talk about.

Whenever I watch a movie, I try to pick up one memorable line. They all have one. The line may not be anything commonly thought special or great prose. Just something special that you notice and get some meaning from, or a chuckle or even just something you thought didn’t fit exactly right into the dialog. Then whenever I see it again, I look forward to catching that line that I’ve remembered. If I discuss a movie, not only do I know the actors and plot, I have at least one line that I remember and recite. We all quote them the way we remember them said not  necessarily word for word. I think it makes a movie discussion more interesting.

As an example, in the movie Titanic, a well done PG-13 movie by the way, who doesn’t remember when Leonardo DiCaprio stands on the bow of the ship, stretches out his arms and yells “I’m king of the world!”. A pretty corny line but memorable. But do you remember, “Jack, I want you to draw me like one of your French girls, wearing only this”? Now that’s a line!

Another movie I come across every few years is “The Miracle Worker, the Helen Keller Story”. Anne Sullivan played by Ann Bancroft says “The room’s a wreck, but her napkin is folded”. I always watch for that line. The line that describes the struggle of Keller’s early learning.

“When Harry Met Sally ” has a few, but the restaurant scene overshadows them all, “I’ll have what she’s having”. Now that’s fun!

Oh, the line quoted at the start of this post is from “Bonnie and Clyde”,

Clyde: “Now you just tell me what was wrong with that car.

C.W. Moss: “Dirt in the fuel line… just blowed it away. …”

What lines do you like to remember?

DSS

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    “Fasten your seatbelts. It’s going be a bumpy night.”

    Like

  2. GREAT post!!! 😀
    I love that line from When Harry Met Sally! 🙂

    “Have fun storming the castle”. Princess Bride.
    “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” Gone with the Wind.
    “Get outa’ here. And don’t come back for 5 -7 days.” My Girl. (the little girl just started her first period and she tells that to the little boy who is her friend.)
    “There’s no crying in baseball.” A League of Their Own.
    “I’ll be bach.” Terminator.
    “Mrs. Robinson, you’re trying to seduce me, aren’t you?” The Graduate
    “Are you crazy?! The fall will probably kill you.” Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
    “You know Kindergarten is like the ocean. You don’t want to turn your back on it.” Kindergarten Cop
    “That’s all I got to say about that.” Forrest Gump

    Ha! I could go on forever!

    I like using some of these in conversations, where they fit, to see if people get the movie reference. Most of the time they look at me like I’m nutzo. Oh well. 😛

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh and….

    Ha! “That is not my dog.”

    Like

  4. “You know how to whistle, dontcha… you just put your lips together and blow.” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    Oh DS – I have way too many LOL!! Off the top of my head . . .
    “… an endeavor fraught with genuine peril.” – Footloose
    “I’m right on top of that Rose!” – Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead
    “Smoke up Johnny!” – The Breakfast Club
    “It’s not a tumor!” – Kindergarten Cop
    “I’d miss you even if we’d never met.” – The Wedding Date
    Enjoyed the post!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

