Doors

Posted: October 6, 2014 in creative writing, Everyday Life
Tags: ,

Do we really need an Enter AND an Exit door?
An In and an Out, maybe for a diner’s kitchen.
But these are right side by side and the doors don’t swing both ways.
They slide open automatically
And you can see through the glass.
I really don’t think we need both.
What we need are more checkers at the check out counters.
Leave the Inning and Outing to us and you worry about more checkers.
Checkers we can talk to, give a smile to, get a smile from.
No self checkers, nope, no selfies here.
Just automatic smiles sent both ways and the slight scent of perfume.
That’s what we need.

DSS

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Yes! That’s what we need, indeed! πŸ™‚
    I love your use of words in this poem, like “automatic smiles”! πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
    PS…There should only be one door for people like me! I have a fluffy-pea-brain…I try to go in OUT-doors and out IN-doors, and I’ve went in doors marked “MEN” even tho’ I are a “WOMAN”, and etc. πŸ˜€
    PPS…I like to be check-ed out! And I like to chat with, and flirt with, the MALE checker-outers! πŸ˜‰ I figure I don’t work at the store, so why should I check myself out. ?!?!?! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think there is a social significance to consider. The cashier may be the only stranger some people have a chance to talk to all day. They are an integral part of our hunter / gathering. Something is wrong with shopping and spending a large sum of money in a store, entering and leaving without talking to a sole. Businesses that do that are not our friends and I feel we are selling out to “the Man” participating in it. :\ You remember “the Man” don’t you, no one talks about him anymore but he’s still there.. 😐 πŸ™‚ Promoting self check outs, self serve gas pumps, automatic car washes and drive thru windows. πŸ™‚ That’s “the Man” doing that. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • I still talk about “the man”. πŸ™‚ I encourage Cooper (my dog) to “stick it to ‘the man’ when he pees on fire hydrants and signs. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›
        Yes, in the guise of making life “better” for us, they’ve developed all these serve-yourself things…even buffets in restaurants. I like being served. Then I can pretend I am the Queen! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› πŸ˜€ HA! πŸ™‚ But, you’re right…the contact with people is good. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

