Eclipse

Posted: October 8, 2014 in poetry, Seasons
Tags: ,

I was awake this morning without having set the alarm. Five O’clock sharp. It is lunar eclipse morning and I’m not going to miss it. I’m at my daughters for the night and she has an excellent view of the western horizon and it’s supposed to be clear without a cloud. In my world we call itΒ  “severe clear”!

Sure enough, right on schedule, as we step outdoors, the moon was at the crescent of the eclipse, and Mario was getting nervous. Oh, I didn’t mention Mario, my daughter’s standard schnauzer. He is way too many years domesticated, and not as fascinated by the moon as his wild cousins. But he couldn’t hold still and gave an occasional yelp as the earth’s shadow continued to catch the lunar orbit and turn the normally yellow orb a light blood red.

He will love tonight’s full moon. That will be something he can howl about.

Of Moon and Wolves

Oh Moon shine on
Still the night, shine on
They, on wild haunches
They, the wild watch
Shine on – the Moon.

They think, they watch,
They wonder.
Oh Moon shine on,
They howl.

DSS

Comments
  1. YAY! I’m glad you got to see it! πŸ™‚ I saw the last one. (It was amazing! I sat outside for over an hour and watched it!)

    Unfortunately the past few nights here have been overcast and rainy…so the moon was not visible. 😦

    Glad Mario got to see and yelp at the moon! Hope he’s howling tonight! πŸ˜‰

    GREAT poem! Both the moon AND wolves are fascinating to me! πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry you and Cooper are missing the moon watching! They happen often, there is a partial event on the 23rd, Maybe you can watch that one.
      It is time for a new moon poem. This one is my favorite.

      Like

Leave a Reply

