Uphill Walk

Posted: October 24, 2014 in Everyday Life, free verse
Tags:

Walking the long path, passing unshaded windows and smoking chimneys,
Puffing frozen breath into the northern breeze
with mittenned hands tucked into my coat’s flannel pockets.
I turn neither left or right but look straight ahead not wasting a moment,
only counting the sidewalk cement seams and avoiding the thin icy patches.
Staying warm by not moving a muscle above my striding legs.
Sealing my coat collar with squeezed shoulders and arms
and a buttoned neck allowing no heat to escape.
I think of little more than keeping warm and moving forward,
Step by step, shortening the distance with each.
Not letting the barking dog or scamperingย  cat crossing my path divert me.
Passing frosted store fronts exclaiming two for a dollar
and buy one get one free that are of no interest
to my watering eyes and red stinging ears and cheeks.
I keep moving forward, cutting street corners
and smiling only at the winter faded keep off the grass sign.
Finally opening the brass handled doors,
I’m blasted by boiler heat and blinded by fogged glasses,
Hearing bells that signal the end of my winter uphill to school walk.

DSS

Comments
  1. A+ and a ๐Ÿ™‚ face!!!
    I love this poem! ๐Ÿ™‚ It brought back memories of my own walks to school AND set off my 5 senses! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love how you ended it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Ha! I told my kids that I walked to school uphill, in 4 foot of snow, barefoot, and hatless…both there and back home again! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜› They didn’t believe me! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    HUGS and Happy Whee-kend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve never gone so far as to throw in “Barefooted”, but I think I will the next time I talk to the kids about it. I’ve used “uphill both ways” for a long time now. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Those early morning walks were so cold where I grew up, you really dreaded going to school in the winter time. Glad it brought back pictures and senses for you. Thanks for the good grade and happy face! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  3. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    Very nice – made my bones ache just a little!!

    Like

  4. Me too, I think of it whenever I have to walk from the parking lot to our office building on a cold windy day. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

