Money Talks But Isn’t Free

Posted: November 6, 2014 in politics

Well, how did everything work out for you this time? I turned everything over to E for the last few days since it was election time and he always gets a little stir-crazy and needs to vent on these occasions. I must say that smoke was blowing out his ears over a couple of issues pre-election. But he’ll get over it.   Even I am shaking my head in disbelieve.

I did notice something that proves what I’ve always suspected. Voters do indeed vote against their own self-interest. Looking at the states that had ballot initiatives on gun control, legalizing marijuana and raising minimum wage, I noticed a trend. Voters voted yes on these individual issues but somehow rationalized it made sense to also vote for a conservation Governor, Senator or Representative that does not support any of these same referendums. Look at Alaska, Colorado, Arkansas and Nebraska for example:

Alaska voted to legalize marijuana but voted for Dan Sullivan for U.S. Senate  who doesn’t support it, Colorado passed it last year but voted for Cory Gardner for U.S. Senate who doesn’t support it.

Also in Colorado and South Dakota,  by over 60%, (Colorado for the 3rd time), voted down a Personhood Amendment but voted in the conservative candidates that supported and campaigned for it to the U.S. Senate.

Colorado I love you guys, but man, get it straight before you vote for U.S. Senator.

Nebraska passed a minimum wage referendum but voted for Ben Sasse a conservative that doesn’t support it.

The list goes on, particularly in the U.S. Senate races. Just notice the State’s individual referendums or Amendments that were passed or rejected, then look at who they voted for in U.S. Senate. Total flip flop, Mind boggling…

All of these Senators won because they were backed by big money. The money changed the voter’s minds. Minds that naturally believe one thing, name the issue, but are swayed by television commercials and vote the opposite. The money wasn’t there for or against the referendums but it poured in to support Senators that are lobbied by special interests.

Look you fickled voters, your U.S. Senate vote matters to me, affects me, even if I don’t live in your state. I live in  a conservative state, I’m a progressive, I count on other state’s progressive Senators to speak for me. I have had better representation from Tom Harken of Iowa, Bernie Sanders from Vermont or Durbin in Illinois than I have ever had from Roberts or Moran in my own state.

And Iowa, what in the world has happened to you in the last 6 years?

If you believe it, don’t let these slick eared money grabbers sway you!

Enough said….

Such is the life of John.

 

 

Comments
  1. We’ve been sold out. Again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Right on, E!!!
    And what Chris said above! ^^
    UGH
    Then HUGS!

    Like

  3. Happy Whee-kend, J!!! 🙂 Hope it’s a good one! 🙂
    Ha! Your comment on my post made me laugh loudly, then a snort slipped out! 😮 😛
    HUGS for you and yours! 🙂

    Like

  4. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    John – great post & spot on!! I didn’t understand it either . . . and I agree about money and elections 110%!
    I did see Bernie Sanders on Bill Maher the other night, & maybe Bill was joshing him, but he said something about the possibility of Bernie running for president. I had never really heard him speak much, but I liked him!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d rather see Bernie in the Senate, he is really one of the only Senators with the guts to confront the right. I agree with him 99% of the time, I really think he cares and is not bought by anyone. The election proved that when left alone , most people are very progressive but put them in front of a TV watching a campaign ad and they become like Deer in the Headlights and forget every principle they have in their head and believe the biggest BS the candidates spew out at them. Very confusing. :\

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

