Whose Birthday?

Posted: February 16, 2015 in Birthdays, politics

This is one of those holidays that on the Sunday night before you are wondering whether you have the day off tomorrow. I had to crank up the work laptop, look through past documents and emails trying to find the yearly holiday schedule that I sent my wife so we could post it on a calendar to remember our dates.

President’s Day is sort of a pussy way of celebrating birthdays. It’s sort of a combination of two great Presidents’ holidays. George didn’t even know Abe, now he has to share the day with a total stranger who wasn’t even born on the same day on the calendar. I’m betting Abe would feel the same. They both deserve their own day. President Lincoln lost his national holiday when the Uniform Monday Holiday Act was passed in 1971. They declared the Monday as Washington’s Birthday, some now call it Presidents Day but officially it is called Washington’s Birthday. Only four states recognize Lincoln’s Birthday on the right date; Illinois, Connecticut, Missouri, and New York.

Washington was born on Feb. 22nd, Abe was born on Feb. 12th . Today is not either of their birthdays.  Abe is recognized 4 days late and George is celebrated 6 days early. Have you ever had to celebrate your birthday early or late? It just isn’t the same. “Oh let’s wait to have your cake and ice cream until Saturday when the whole family can get together”, we’ve all said and have done that. The kids hate it, I hate it! It’s my frickin’ birthday! I’m going to celebrate it on the day of the month I was born. It is a big day for us individually, the one day we can be selfish. I’m going to celebrate it on the right day. I don’t care that the banks, stock market and post office might have to be closed twice in the month of February.

I think they have cheapened these days. Hell, the garbage trucks are running on schedule today. Many other trades will be working today. The banks and stock market are closed, the garbage collection crews are working. George and Abe would both sneer at that! They’d see the inequality of it. As a man living in the 21st century, I love the irony of it. But it isn’t fair.  If the banks get the day off, the working stiff should get the day off, also. And just because it is more convenient for the greedy bastards, is no reason to combine the two days into one just so they can get a three-day weekend. The garbage guys would like a three-day weekend, too. Or, if it falls that way, two days off during the month. Hell, there is a very good chance that one or the other birthdays will fall on a weekend anyway.

I am lucky, I have a lot of vacation days. This year I’m taking days away from work on the proper dates. No more of this celebrating holidays because it makes a three-day weekend. I love days off in the middle of the week. I want to recognize these events on the date they happened, even if it’s on a weekend. George Washington’s and Abraham Lincoln’s memory deserve it. It is tradition, damn it!

Now let’s work on making Election Day a national holiday. How about it?

Gotta go, I have trash to set out.

E.

 

 

 

Comments
  1. 9bianchistreet says:

    I can’t imagine you are refering, negatively, to the feline species, or certain fuzzy branched willows, so I must, unfortunately, assume you are using the colloquial term for female genitalia as an insult.

    I am more than a little surprised. You have an extensive vocabulary and, I’m certain, access to a thesaurus. Please reconsider your word choice. It is offensive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandy,
      By checking the MacMillan Online dictionary I have found many synonyms and meanings for the term I used, referring to the female genitalia being only one of many. I chose the following which does not refer to, you know, down there.

      Synonyms and related words for pussy:

      Someone who is not brave or willing to take risks: nebbish, coward, baby, chicken, wimp, pansy, chickenshit, pussy, milksop…

      Which would be the least offensive?

      E.

      note from John:
      Considering E’s blue collar upbringing, limited vocabulary and foul mouth, you must understand that pussy fits his usage superbly. It seems whenever E goes into one of his rants, as my About Page explains, I am the one that ends up apologizing for him. I’m sorry you were offended.
      John

      Liked by 1 person

    • 9bianchistreet says:

      Really? You are going to try to justify using this term?
      Misogyny runs rampant through our society. Language is important – as you know.

      And it is Sandra.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes! Amen! I agree! GREAT post! 🙂
    I love that you will celebrate on the correct days! 🙂
    And I have had to celebrate my birthday late and it’s no fun. And no fun when people forget it because it falls near a major holiday and they are too focused on the holiday to remember my birthday. OH well. 🙂
    Did you see the series on The History Channel called “Sons of Liberty”? I thought it was good. And I did some research afterwards on the major characters. Gained an even greater respect and appreciation for George Washington.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really, really liked “Sons of Liberty”. I hope it is required viewing for all High School history students. They definitely had enormous courage, so out-numbered and so under equipped. it was only thru great leaders like Washington and the others that we won our liberty. Everyone in the U.S. should salute all of the characters involved in the revolutionary war and the building of our government. Very solemn and serious time for all of us to reflect on. We should celebrate him and the founders for more than just on the 4th and his birthday. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. We need more holidays, not compressed ones. Hurrah for any excuse for more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

