High Water

Posted: March 30, 2015 in flash fiction, Seasons
Tags: , ,

The black mud that caked between his toes and had partly dried down the backs of his heels and ankles felt oddly comforting as he paused for a moment and rested in the warm drying sun. Repeatedly flicking his disposable lighter, ridding the dampness from the flint, he was hoping his last few cigarettes were not soaked and disintegrating.
It had been years sinceΒ he had seen the water this far beyond the tree line. In the 100 yard trudge from the house to the higher ground of the tool shed, the mud from what used to be his newly plowed garden had sucked his tennis shoes from his feet. Wading barefoot in the thigh high water, thoughts of what unknown things may be below the surface loomed in his mind with each careful step. AsΒ Gerald rested on the high ground, he watched as two rabbits paddled from the water to safety within his easy reach. Unconcerned with his presence, they shook, licked and scratched the water from their fur. At this moment they were all fellow survivors. “I’ll find those shoes after the river goes down” he thought as he took a deep drag from his last cigarette.

DSS

Comments
  1. now this is a scene I can both feel and smell…and hear…I hear that lighter…I can smell the mud, I can feel the distance.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent! πŸ™‚
    This is sense evoking…sight, sound, smell, taste, touch! And it ignites my emotions, too!
    We can feel what Gerald is feeling, we can relate…all of us have had at least one experience of becoming a survivor.
    I wish all the peoples of the world could unite on that…the fact that we have all had to overcome and survive many of the same life experiences and emotions.
    Have you ever thought about self publishing your writing, J? or trying to get your writing published?
    You are one of a very few bloggers I read whose writing is SO good! πŸ™‚
    PS…How you doing today?!?!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I am doing swell today C. How you? I hope swell, too! πŸ˜€

      Yes, poor Gerald has been through a lot. I was feeling sorry for him so I added a couple of bunny rabbits to give him a smile. πŸ™‚

      I feel it is a very nice compliment what you said, thank you, SweetC!! πŸ™‚ If I ever thought someday that I could write 500 words or more using more than 5 paragraphs I might consider it. πŸ˜€ I admire authors that can and I really enjoy reading them. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    Well done!! I have been in high water before and felt all these things. Great imagery! Brought back memories, not great ones, but memories just the same πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

