No Regrets, None

Posted: April 3, 2015 in Edith Piaf, Life, songs

Lately, I don’t know why, long forgotten songs and artists are capturing my attention. Something, perhaps her spirit, has forced me to post this.

Again a song from the past has arisen and drilled itself into my head as a determined earworm that has embed itself there for as long as the music and lyrics sees fit. This time the reoccurring song and image in my head is “Non Je Ne Regrette Rien” sang by Edith Piaf.  Sadly, because of her early death, it was very difficult to find a live film or video recording on the web that captures the fidelity and gives justice to her voice with her visual performance.

But as I listen to this music and voice and I am forced by its power to seek and learn more about it and its artist, the music , as great as it is, wanes in the spirit and the shadow of the performer herself. Edith Piaf’s life story is one as inspiring, as uplifting and as sad as any singer songwriter that I have ever listened to or read about. I can only compare this incredible French woman with perhaps the life and talent of the American talent, Billy Holiday. At one time Piaf was France’s most popular artist.

Although Edith died at the age of 47 in 1963, I at a very young age remember watching her perform on television on the Ed Sullivan stage singing this signature song that even as a child, I was attracted to its gripping power in a language I could not even understand. But that song was lodged in my mind then and lay dormant for over 50 years until it reappeared again triggered last week by, of all things, the appearance of a new Cadillac commercial.

Edith Piaf’s story is very interesting and I would encourage you to look into her life and perhaps pick up a bit of her success, inspiration and tragedy. No regrets certainly describes this woman.

DSS

Comments
  1. Oh yes— Piaf always touched me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful voice and song! 🙂 Now I want to listen to more of her music. Plus, I admire anyone who has no regrets.
    It’s so interesting and wonderful how she came back into your life now. 🙂
    I love how music, especially music we heard as children, impacts us all of our life.
    I often think of the songs my Dad listened to, late at night, when I was a preschooler…songs of Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, Sonny James, Johnny Cash, etc.
    And sometimes, now, late at night I play their songs.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ~ Sadie ~ says:

    At first, I didn’t think I knew who this was, but I do. I have heard this song so many times over the years! I just had no idea who it was. Thanks John – enjoyed the post!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

