Satire de Possum

Posted: April 22, 2015 in Earth Day
Tags:

Meet my favorite Comic Strip character, Pogo. Created by Walt Kelly. If you have heard the saying, “We have met the enemy Walt Kelly, Pogo, April 22, 1971 Earth day.and he is us”, Pogo was the first to say it on Earth Day April 22, 1971.

Pogo was a great philosopher. A very wise possum. I read Pogo all through my childhood and into my adult life. The possum became my Animal Totem. He helped form many of my social, political and personal beliefs that I hold dear to this day. I have passed on Pogo’s influence to my children and grandchildren on every chance.

Unfortunately, Pogo is not syndicated any longer in  any newspapers that I’m aware of although there are many Pogo books that Walt Kelly published before the artist’s death in 1973.

For sound advice, political satire and just plain fun reading, give Pogo by Walt Kelly a web search to find Pogo and his friends in the Okefenokee Swamps of the Southeast U.S. Any of his books would be a great start in helping to understand even 21st century world events and politics.

Read him and you will soon love him.

E.

Comments
  1. Excellent! 🙂 Yes! I love Pogo! Such wisdom! 🙂
    I was talking to a friend the other night about “old” fav comic strips…and we had fun laughing about Wizard of Id, Far Side, BC, Frank and Ernest, Calvin and Hobbes, etc! 😀
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. A very important cartoonist, and strip. Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

