First Name Basis

Posted: May 10, 2015 in poetry
Tags: , ,

I traveled through a small town of 500 people the other day.
I had never driven through there before
I noticed something .
I first saw Sherri’s Package Store
then Dave’s Carwash just a block from Allen’s Hardware.
Looking up the street
I could see the barber pole of Carl’s Barber Shop.
Just past Nick’s Grocery on Main Street
I had to stop at Casey’s Convenience Store for gas.
I felt I was on a first name basis with half the folks in town
And I didn’t talk to a soul.

DSS

Comments
  1. HA! I love this poem! 🙂 Great, creative subject matter and written well!
    I’ve been in towns like that…but, never lived in one.
    Often if a place is named after someone…for example Jimmy John’s restaurant…just for fun I’ll ask, “So, is Jimmy John here?!” I love the responses I get!
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…hope all the moms in your life had a Happy Mother’s Day!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think all of the Mom’s are happy, hope you had a great day , too! I can imagine the funny responses you get. 😀 I wonder that every time I stop at a Wendy’s, someday I’m going to meet that girl! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha— a very witty verse !!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

