Advice of A Dying Man

Posted: May 16, 2015 in creative writing

Seeing the commotion at the jetway, I knew this was going to be an interesting layover in Denver. Gate 18 to gate 86 is not a walk to look forward to. On the way all sorts of bazaar behavior can be observed.

I like watching people. Don’t get me wrong, I’m also a doer, not just a watcher. I know how to get things done but there are times a guy just has to take a few moments toย simply observe his surroundings. You know, watch total strangers just doing everyday things. Have you ever just sat and watched someone eat a sandwich? I’ve noticed most people don’t take the advice of Warren Zevon. Most do something else as they eat their sandwich. It seems reading of some sort is popular, a book, a newspaper, the label on their bottled water. I have watched a lot of people eat their sandwich and I’ve never noticed an adult hold the thing in both hands and first justย nibble around the edges eating the crust. Or pulling a PB&J apart and just lick the peanut butter off of one slice and lick the jelly off of the other. Only a child will do that, my son used to do that. I haven’t watched lately but I’m betting he doesn’t eat his sandwiches either of those ways now that he’s an adult. I ‘m thinking he enjoyed hisย sandwich more back when he was 7. He’s grown now, but I’m going to watch the next time we have lunch together.

Yes, I agree , we should “enjoy every sandwich”, no matter what the age or where we are..

DSS

Comments
  1. Excellent post, SweetJ! And, YES, we should! ๐Ÿ™‚
    The “process”…even when doing something simple like eating a sandwich…is often the best part of our journey! And always look for the joy, and fun you can have, in any situation! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Great song! When Cooper goes out to the backyard, I tell him one of two things, “Write if you get work!” or “Send lawyers, guns and money!” ๐Ÿ˜› He just gives me THAT look! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love people watching…and airports are always a good place to do that! ๐Ÿ˜€
    HUGS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Whee-kend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dogs have a very slow sense of humor, a lot of stuff just goes right over their head. ๐Ÿ˜€ It was either Lawyers Guns and Money or Things to Do in Denver When You’re Dead . But that one didn’t seem very tasteful although the city was right. Been thinking of Zevon with Letterman doing his final shows.
      How’s your weeeekend going?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

