To A Man

Posted: August 6, 2015 in poem, poet, poetry
Tags: , ,

I have always wanted to run after life eagerly
But at this time in my life I am at peace.
Accepting the circumstances of my chance
and the results of my best laid plans.
Plans of best intentions, done with the most skillful of execution
but ending with questionable final outcome.
Gang aft agley *
I am now more fond of watching order from chaos.
After all, the entire Universe was built from it.
Of the largest galaxy to the least of the nests of a shivering mouse.
Both occasionally going awry
And both still doing quite well.
But I, Man, doomed with the ability of foreseeing
the billiard ball’s ricochet
Doing no better

Such is the life of John

* Robert Burns, phrase “Gang aft agley” from “To a Mouse”

Comments
  1. Wow. GREAT poem, J! I can relate! In fact, your poem expresses something I am going through right now. I am finding peace during chaos. And it is lovely!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just stopped by to read it again.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it when you stop by! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

