Regina

Posted: August 10, 2015 in poetry, writing
Tags: ,

She was fair skinned, so responsive, and of beautiful physique. But we could only be friends. She went with a grace that seemed to float. But with one wrong move or gesture she could turn on me and insist that things weren’t right. If left alone she could right herself but she would first seem to smirk and wait for my clumsy finesse.
We would meet mostly on weekends and we would travel to where ever a tank of gas would get us in a day’s daylight. On most days it seemed we thought and acted as one but on a few the turbulence felt unnerving. But she had no fear and relied on me. She would insist that I make the decision to keep going or to turn back and abandon our plans.
She was very outgoing and became well liked where ever we traveled. When we arrived and were recognized, I was so proud to be with her. But I knew what would come. She flaunted herself and teased her admirers into touching her smooth skin as I stood with my “please do not touch” look on my face. If they only knew of the danger and destruction she was capable of they would not approach. Most times I was jealous only of their gaze.
When we would depart, my spirits would lift and I would realize why I did this. For at these times we were alone and in the clouds as one. We were not anxious to return home.
When we would get back to the hangar there was a letdown of sorts. She would be sitting quietly there, our journey complete, cockpit left with only a concoction of slight smells of av-gas, oil, cooling exhausts and human sweat, some remember all those as the smell of fear. I would walk away but only a few steps then pause… and look back. Seeing her sitting in the dark, by herself and so inanimate, made it very hard to close the hangar doors and leave her there alone.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. Aw! Love this! This is sweet and bittersweet. But, how wonderful to have such amazing memories made with her! 🙂
    I have always assigned human feelings to animals and certain objects/things. And I have people in my life that think that is nutso! 😉 But, I don’t care! I treat people, animals, and objects the same…with respect, gentle hands, good care, a loving heart, etc. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was thinking about you the past few days…and thought I should bop over here tonight and check on you!
    How you doing?!?!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Felicity says:

    So well done! Love it 😇

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ret MP says:

    one of your best writes!!!! thank you …thank you for sharing it. A treasure. -Ret

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Ret . Not unusual to put a little of humanity into our mobile machines. It is irresistible not to feel a personality in them when others associate their “personality ” as part of us. They do become a part of us. Boat, airplanes, motorcycles, we love ’em, Perhaps love is a power, a power to make the inanimate , seem, even become animate ..

      Like

Leave a Reply

