Night Flight

Posted: September 14, 2015 in poetry
Tags:

Steering east with the North Star in the corner of my eye
The engine drone and gyro whine keeps me awake.
Kept aloft without missing one of a million sparks
And trusting that the liquid energy will quickly heat and burn.
The red glow of the panel, mostly unnoticed, as my eyes scan forward
Wondering which space I could land on, the light or the dark.
Of lights with no reflections, unseen by me, I continue on
Only the light of the full moon is brightly shining on me.

The cooling night air grows smooth, no tug or push of speed is found here.
I’m alive in this space, hanging free with no sense of height or motion
Only the leak of air reminding me that the ocean I float in is but vapor.
The beacon of green and white that I search for is real and may be seen
But I trust a glowing needle’s left or right of my coarse as true and real.
I cannot pause to ponder this for only by moving forward can I stay here.
I have no one here to share this for I am alone.
And I will not reach my home until the moon is behind me.

DSS

Comments
  1. iampeacenow says:

    This is wonderful πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Talk about a poem filled with vivid word pics and emotions! You may have been alone…but I was right up there with you as I read!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

