Seriously

Posted: October 19, 2015 in free verse, Humor, love, poem
Tags: ,

The other day I was walking along, minding my own business and came upon a small smooth stone.
A very interesting looking piece of agate
It felt like velvet to touch
Really!
It had to have been washed by millennia of running water
I couldn’t keep my fingers off of it
It seemed to sooth my soul as I felt it
All day I reached in my pocket and caressed that beautiful little stone
All through lunch I just stared at it
rolling it in my fingers
It seemed so out-of-place here in Kansas
surely it had a more romantic origin
I imagined it as being from a tropical island
I had heard of similar things being found
I decided to call my new prize possession
My little Hawaiian Love Stone
That evening I showed the Stone to my wife
and told her of its new name and soothing properties
She said “Yes, a Hawaiian Love Stone, you do know what they call them here in Kansas don’t you?”
“No, what?”
” A fucking rock”.

E.

Comments
  1. I was so so SO into your romantic thoughts of your Little Hawaiian Love Stone originating in paradise (aw!) and then finding it’s way to you (sigh!) in order to make your life beautiful and better and…
    then WHAM!…
    what your wife said made me snort-laugh so loud I now have a group of pigs gathering outside my office window! 😮
    HA!!! That is SO funny! 😛 😀
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

