Working Memory

Posted: October 27, 2015 in Everyday Life

There is an old study that reviews our “working memory”. I guess that is the memory we use in the present. It is not short term memory but the memory that serves us as we go from room to room and then wonder why we left the kitchen and are now standing beside the dining room table. What was it that I came in here for? We have all done it. For me it goes like this.

I am in the kitchen sweeping the floor, I decide to take the trash bag out of the trash can, I tie the bag neatly and take it through the garage out to the dumpster and on my way back thru the garage I remember to change the oil in the car. While I change the oil, the broom and dust pan are still in the middle of the kitchen floor and the trash can sits without a bag in it.  I think that is what they mean by working memory. It has nothing to do with age. I know I have done this on occasion since I was in high school. According to the study I’m normal.

It goes on to say that the reason for this is we can only hold 3 to 4 separate things in our working memory at one time. We can remember many more things than that but we have to group everything so it can all be contained within those 3 or 4 memory slots. That explains it! I replaced the broom, dust pan and trash bag with 5 quarts of oil, the car, a wrench and oil pan. Whew! I thought I was losing my mind.

I remember long number strings by giving each number an exaggerated color, character or characteristic. And then remember the parade of odd looking numbers. That’s a trick I use and it works, I know it sounds odd but I am odd and I get to see colorful little parades often everyday.

OO

CC

 

 

Comments
  1. You are normal. ??? Dang, I might have to quit hangin’ with you! 😉 😛 😀

    This is so interesting! I know young adults who tell me they have trouble remembering things. I think we are so inundated with stuff, bombarded with things, have so much info at our fingertips and our minds can only remember so much. 🙂

    That is cool about the colorful parade! Wow! I’ve never tried that! It might not work for me, because then I’d have to remember if 8 is blue or red or a mouse or apple. Oh! I could make 8 a white snowman! 😉

    It’s weird…I can remember the first phone number I ever knew (from childhood), but can’t always remember mine today! 😉 😛

    HUGS from your abnormal friend!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I may be normal, but I’m odd! I think there’s a difference, but I could be oddly normal or you may be just normally abnormal.

    Or we both may be oddly abnormal, a very snug and warm place to be, I think. 🙂
    OC

    Like

Leave a Reply

