Early Winter

Posted: November 27, 2015 in Seasons, story

The crunch of the ice under my unlaced boots broke the silence of the chilled morning air. Footprints of white broken blades of grass marked my path to my curbside mailbox. Bare handed, hitting the ice-covered lid to break the seal,  I jerked the cold metal handle to only reveal the frozen emptiness inside. No mail today.

Before I opened it I knew there would be nothing. Just a look out of my living room window had confirmed that no tire tracks had veered into the gutter to shorten the mailman’s reach into the box. The unbroken ice seal covering it told me that the lid had not been opened yet today. But I made the short trek across the frozen yard anyway just to be sure. As if I needed a reason to go outside to hear, feel and smell the first freezing rain of this early winter.

DSS

Comments
  1. Love this! Excellent write! 🙂
    Just reading this, I can feel the cold, see the frozen morn, and hear the ice crunch! 🙂
    Leftover-Turkey-HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PS…Low was 30 degrees here this a.m.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

