That’s Not My Clock!

Posted: December 30, 2015 in Everyday Life, Life, Seasons, story, writing
Tags: , , , ,

I wake up alone and cold, I check the time, it’s 05:50 AM. I realize, that’s not my clock! I’m not in my own bed. It’s OK, I’m on the road again.

I calculate how many minutes I have before I have to drag out of bed to face the shower. I say face the shower because it is cold in the room and it is dreadful to think of getting cold dripping wet. No matter how hot I make it, there comes a time when I must turn off the hot water, open the curtain and grab the towel. The blast of chilled air as I open the shower curtain is the most uncomfortable feeling of the day. I’m naked, dripping dog wet, chilled and with a primal urge to shake, nose to tail. I plan how in the same motion I will grab the towel and slam the bathroom door shut. What was unnoticed air entering a few minutes ago, now feels like a freezer cold draft. I can’t dry fast enough.

As I shave, I realize I must do the second most dreadful thing of the day. I must make the coffee, hotel coffee. Enough said about that, if you drink coffee, you know what I mean. The first cup of coffee must be drank hot and before you are dressed.  Sitting in your shorts, cup held full palmed, gazing straight ahead unfocused is best. I’ve tried other ways of having the first cup of morning coffee. I’ve put it in a thermos jug the night before, but by 6:00 am it is lukewarm. I have requested room service in the hotels that offer it, it usually arrives late and it is cold or it arrives on time and it is cold. It’s impossible to deliver hot coffee anywhere. It will always lose it’s heat on the trip up the elevator. Even if you have a microwave in the room, reheated coffee is not the same.

Facing the cold vehicle is not at all enjoyable either. Warming up a car at a hotel is different too. First of all, the car is always parked in the farthest available parking space. I must start it up and let it sit to warm up enough to soften the ice and snow. So I either have to start it and sit there freezing my butt waiting for it to warmup or take a chance. The chance is starting it up, turning on all of the heat then locking it up, leave it in the parking lot running, while I run back to the lobby for more luke warm hotel coffee. Doing this at home in the driveway is one thing. Doing this in the outskirts of St. Louis is another. Or are the chances of anyone wanting to steal an ice-covered, frozen vehicle pretty slim?

I guess being on the road is an experience of a lack of warmth.

 

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. Sounds like it!
    Love your title! And…Brrr!!! Your descriptions are accurate, vivid, and get my senses involved!
    Now I’m cold!
    I guess these daily Winter experiences help us appreciate the warmth of Spring and the hot of Summer. 🙂
    Try to find warmth, be safe, and be careful…you don’t want to freeze your nuts off! 😮 😛
    Warm HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PS…If that wasn’t your clock…were your underpants YOUR underpants?! That’s always important when waking up in a bed that is not YOUR bed! Ha! 😉 😛 Okay…Just wanted to let you know…I am officially on Santa’s Naughty List for 2016! 😀 Yes…already. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

