Another Place

Posted: March 7, 2016 in free verse, peace, poem, poet, poetry
Tags: , , , ,

I have found myself in another place
another time another space
Miles from home and human race
That is all I know.

Awoke one morning unfamiliar sun
unknown hills, friends – not one
Alone again and mind undone
Among the quiet.

Dogs that smiled, cats that prayed
Clouds all burst of bright sun-rays
homes of sticks and builder’s clay
Wooden doors sealed shut.

Pipes that smoke, barrels that blast
Trees cut down, branches cast
plowed red dirt, burnt wasteland vast
Cloudy waters burn.

On my knees, I face the sky
Hear mothers and widows tear-less cry.
Their children lost, no reason why
Gone behind the moon.

I kick and pound the desert dirt
I rip the labels from my shirt
Are we truly the ones unhurt?
That, We may never learn.

DSS

 

Comments
  1. Wow. Powerful images in your poem, DSS. And those images stir up powerful emotions.
    An illustrator could draw some cool illustrations for this poem. And the rhyming makes is cool to read aloud.
    I don’t mind dogs smiling and cats praying…but, some of those other things I do not want to experience.
    What made you (why did you) write this poem? Curious about the why and what it means to you.
    Happy Moan-Day! May all your moaning be good moaning! 😉
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A great write– I enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

