Chapter 1, Page 1

Posted: November 10, 2016 in creative writing, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

All about us may be lost
and time will continue,
but it will live only in the minds of those who remain. E

The old question, “If a tree falls in the forest and there is no one there to hear it, does it make a noise?”

When I was a ten-year old child fishing with my father one beautiful spring morning and he presented me with that question, I seriously pondered what he had asked. It was possibly the first philosophical question I was ever confronted with.  Perhaps it was cruel to ask a young impressionable boy such a thing. It may have hinged on the edge of child abuse. The most difficult questions he had ever asked me before were “where’s your shoes”, “what’s that on your face”, “have you washed your hands”, “did you put gum in your sister’s hair” ??

And that day I was asked a question that I had to think about, I could not lie about and how ever I answered it, he was willing to discuss it with me.

” Jesus Christ!, what the fuck?” I thought. (I had learned from my father to quietly swear to myself years earlier).

OC

 

(Con’t on the next post)

Comments
  1. iampeacenow says:

    The first paragraph…. This is why I keep the memory of my daughter present.

    Interesting your father would ask this question of you as a child. Was he a philosopher? What is your answer? Once upon a time I would imagine a forest of silently falling trees to sort this out but now my philosophy is different. The tree has no need for the ears of others to express its falling cry.

    I didn’t learn to silently cuss until much later in life ;-). Peace to you

    Liked by 2 people

    • He was a master of all that he tried, yes a philosopher, too. Unfortunately, he wasn’t interested in mastering making much money.
      I have a similar philosophy as yours for the tree’s need for ears. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • iampeacenow says:

        There are a great many things of worth that typically generate little or no money. Sadly in our day we need money – how much depends on our desires. It is a sad thing, too, to realize later in life your desires have changed… Wait – am I meandering off topic on your site? I believe I am…. 🙂

        Like

  2. Lyne's View says:

    Probably the same thing my father said to himself when I was fishing with him and I asked why a fish was called a fish? 🙂
    Only the forest has the answer to you father’s question. (pats heart, and points to nature’s knowing)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Excellent, profound and thought provoking, OC!
    (Don’t tell the others, but you are my favorite writer! 😉 )

    Maybe your father was trying to help you grow, evolve, mature…or just get your mind off girls. ??? 😉 😀

    And you were fortunate he was willing to ask questions and engage conversation and discussions. 🙂

    I do believe each falling tree makes a great noise…and it makes SO me sad that no knows the tree fell until it’s too late. 😦

    HUGS!!! 🙂

    PS…Ha, the silent cussing made me think of many things, one of which is Muttley the Dog swearing under his breath. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

