Summer in December

Posted: December 18, 2016 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, Seasons, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Summer in December

What’s that feeling you get
hearing that voice or song or music
remembering
who you were with, the thing you were doing
the time, the song,
the black and white picture in your mind
the favorite shirt, the wild hair.
What is that feeling
The down deep feeling
sort of good but empty, sort of sad,
how many years and how many are gone
Getting what we need,
But so many left behind
Listening under the near full moon
The words, the notes,
with that dusty woman.
The hair scent and the feel of goose bumped skin.
Feeling summer in December

DSS

It is -9 F here this morning, I’m OK, the pipes aren’t frozen, the snow was only a skiff, and I have no place I need to go. We are stocked up on bread, milk and batteries, our survival is assured, now if we only had a couple of boxes of Girl Scout cookies, I’ve heard stories of old couples surviving for 8 or 10 days in their snow-covered cars with only a blanket, a bottle of Aquafina and two boxes of Thin Mints,  An amazing story, somewhere out in northwestern Kansas if I remember right. This kind of weather makes you want to think of more pleasant seasons.

Here’s a poem I wrote in December three years ago, just to get winter off my mind. I’m getting that feeling again.

First Posted: December 15, 2013

DSS

Comments
  1. OH! I love this poem! Thanks for posting it again! A joy to read!
    I understand the emotions behind the words…I have felt exactly this way!

    Glad you are safe and warm indoors on this cold winter weekend!
    HotToddy-HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Okay…now I’m wondering if the old couples got nekkid and made sweet lovin’…that would help generate some heat! 😉 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ref your nekkid PS : Yes, I have experience in that area 🙂 not during a storm but yes, it does generate heat 😛 You have to alternate between doggy style and missionary to evenly disperse the warmth. Cowgirl and reverse cowgirl are a waste of energy but still, it would definitely take your mind off of the dangerous situation you both were in. 😀 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      • Is this OC commenting!?!? 😛
        HA! *snort* 😀 (love the “taking your mind off the dangerous situation…”)
        Yes, you gotta’ have your plan all worked out for proper heat distribution. Or…well…no plan works, too…just go at it. And if the cold kills you…you’d die with a grin on your face! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. HA! 😀 I just typed “Hot Todd HUGS” on another person’s blog and I had to go back and add the “y”. Hmm…I don’t know any Todd’s who are hot. Maybe I’ll meet one soon! 😉 😛

    Like

  3. iampeacenow says:

    Wonderful poem. Oh yes – music can bring back so many memories and emotions. So true they can cause a sad empty feeling. Stay warm – using whatever means necessary! Peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

