2017, Come Together

Posted: January 7, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been writing for most of my adult life. Adult being , 30 or over. I was of the Timothy Leary era, “Don’t trust anyone over 30”.  I only mention Leary because one of the best ass-kicking songs John Lennon ever wrote was “Come together”, that music was derived from of all things, a campaign song Leary asked Lennon to write when Leary made a run for , I believe, governor. Unfortunately the Feds threw Timothy in jail and the governorship and the unused newly written John Lennon campaign song were left to rot where if you wanted sunshine, it had to be piped to ya. But Lennon had great hope for that music and did not want it to die, so he went ahead and wrote the lyrics, that he said was just “gobbledygook“, to “Come Together”. After the Beatles broke up, Come Together, was the only Beatles group song that John would perform on stage, It must have meant a lot to him.

While my children were growing up in the 80’s, teenagers, I required Come Together as compulsory learning in our household before allowed entrance into high school. They had to know every verse, and in the proper order. Well, I have to say, I’ve always graded on the curve. Isn’t that what Old Flattop would do?

Such is the life of John

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uSM5MpKSnqE”

Comments
  1. Great song! YAY, John Lennon! 🙂
    Great post! I laughed loudly several times! 😀 Ha! What a cool thing to require of your kids! 😛
    I enjoyed Joe Cocker singing this song in the movie Across the Universe!
    Monkey-finger HUGS!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joe’s is the best cover, maybe a bit better than the original. Yay! I love that movie!
      Yes, my required credits were recite The Gettysburg Address and Come Together and I’ve since added must read Mario Savio’s Dec. 2, 64 speech’s 99 word paragraph about stopping the Machine ..
      Happy My Free Sunday! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. iampeacenow says:

    It seems you were a fun parent :-). I think that’s cool. And kind of funny. peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

