The Art

Posted: January 9, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , ,

Among the slush of a muddled mind
the thoughts of love of hate of crime
the cries the tears of scrambled speech
I must rise and walk the crooked streets
My clothes of wool and empty heart
bring bright the light of my gentle art
of scenes of paint and of words of lust
and carved stone of a woman’s breasts
my calloused hands and carving knife
gently molds and returns to life
the soft smooth and stone veiled face
of a long-lost soul of forgotten grace
of one once lived now froze in time
to be looked upon and claimed as mine.

DSS

( To the sculptures of Raffaelle Monti )

Comments
  1. iampeacenow says:

    This is wonderful… and makes me wonder – do you paint and sculpt? Very well written regardless of the answer – and perhaps personal. peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful poem…and I find it romantic and poignant.
    This made me think of a quote I heard recently… “Take your broken heart, make it into art.”
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ret MP says:

    you were certainly inspired….I’m reading and re-reading your poem. Free verse takes over, yes!? Isn’t that good to let it all out… beautiful day to you. Ret

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

