Beautiful Black and White

Posted: January 18, 2017 in creative writing, free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Boys, you better mind your fishin’ poles
there’s no fish, only turtles in this here tank
Here let me help ya roll that cigarette
I don’t come here to fish
don’t like eatin’ them anyway
Spend half the time pickin’ out bones
Came here first 40 years ago
I brought her with me just 20 years back
we swam all naked together then
She bet me a silver dollar she could get to the other side first
I’ll bet she still has that silver dollar.
It’s never wrong to love a woman like that.

“Probably playin’ with it in her blue jean pocket.”

OC

“That’s the scene I remember in “The Last Picture Show”, as best as I can remember it.  I need to watch it again.  OC ”

 

 

Comments
  1. I love that picture! DSS

    Like

  2. OH! I love it, too! What a great movie and a great scene in that movie! Been eons since I’ve seen it…so I need to watch it again soon.
    Good job, OC!
    OOH!!! I still have a crush on Jeff Bridges! His recent movie “Hell or Highwater” is really good! 🙂 Have you seen it?
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Ha…your comment on my recent blog post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, I haven’t seen it. it is on the list though.
      That scene is so special, Ben Johnson usually had few words in his movies, but his part in this movie is so important and well done. I’ve met two or three Sam the Lions in my life and they are special. Ben’s monologue was just like being with them again on my front porch. So natural.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

