Another Day in the Life

Posted: February 18, 2017 in creative writing, Everyday Life, free verse, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Let’s face it. There isn’t much to talk about while sitting here in a Northwestern Missouri Holiday Inn Express. I guess I can only talk about what I have here. Two Queens, a refrigerator, ground floor, near the exit. That’s my criteria. I like a choice of beds, use one of them to stack my coat and computers on, a solid floor and if the damn place catches on fire, I want a short unobstructed run or crash through the window out of here.

I definitely don’t want to talk about the 4 or 5 hours of restless sleep and endless info-commercials.

How many years have I been doing this?

6:00 seems to be the time for breakfast. Breakfast, round patties or dog sausage, powdered eggs (I think, sometimes they sort of gel together like a solid custard). They will be scrambled or formed into a tortilla shape.I haven’t figured them out, I don’t eat them. Biscuits and gravy seem to be a staple to eat first thing in the morning. Don’t biscuits and gravy sort of settle in your stomach and sit there all day? I have never figured that out, I don’t eat them.

Coffee is good. I mix my own, one half decaf, one half caffeinated, black. I never take a cup or a lid from the top of the stack. Can you imagine how many fingers have handled those? If I have to, I take each from at least three down. My advice, bring your own cup. The yogurt is surprisingly good, Yoplait Original, 99% fat-free, excellent. I usually stumble down the hall at 6, grab my coffee, 2 – 4 oz.cups of Yoplait and spoon, sit down close to the TV, realize it is permanently tuned to Fox News by the three Ditto heads that are sitting close to the biscuits and gravy, get up from the table in disgust, take my yogurt and coffee back to the room. Hopefully the management has subscribed to the weather channel.

Very interesting hotel, it is always warm and dry here, the showers are great, the cable or Sat signals are usually good and the floors always appear to be clean enough that I don’t feel like I have to wear my socks all the time.

I give this establishment 3 and a half stars.

Oh, just a tip, be nice, turn the air conditioning to high cool when you leave. Make sure it’s cool for the housekeeping staff, they work very hard. A hot room is their pet peeve.

Is that a Waffle House or IHOP I see down the street?

Such is the life of John.

Comments
  1. iampeacenow says:

    I liked reading this snapshot type post – a moment in time with your thoughts. I seldom stay in a hotel. I guess it’s been almost 3 years – if I remember correctly. Peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting to hear about a day in your life on the road!
    I love road trips and even enjoy hotels! But, not sure I could do it weekly. I admire you being able to do this for years. πŸ™‚
    HA! I’ve got some very interesting, some humorous, stories about staying in hotels…like the Hotel Hell in Raton, NM for one…HA!…Well, I imagine you have tons more stories than I do! πŸ˜€
    I’ve only eaten in a Waffle House once…but, I do do do SO enjoy IHOP!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
    PS…Missouri is one of my fav states! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Last year was a light year for me. Only 81 nights in a hotel. I maintain a very low profile while on the road. I’m figuratively on my way home the minute I back out of our driveway. The goal is not doing the work, the goal is to get back home. I usually just ignore the absurdities, I just move to the other side of the street, you might say. The sound proofing is really good now days. In the past I have listened to (without holding a glass to the wall) moaning,screaming, yelling and love making. All at the same time in the room next to me. But that’s not bad. A bus load of a high school band or sports team is the worst. The hall ways will be full of loud children and slamming doors and it doesn’t matter what floor you’re on or the sound proofing, you’ll hear it all night. I find it interesting to staying in a hotel but I do not like it. I usually can’t wait to check out, whether it is a small Holiday Inn in NW Missouri or the Hyatt in downtown Houston or Calgary.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Wowza! I could not do 81 nights (in a year) in hotels! I enjoy home way too much! πŸ™‚
        I love your attitude…I have feel the same way…but never thought how to express it…it’s all about getting home again. πŸ™‚
        HUGS!!! πŸ™‚
        PS…I responded to you e-mail. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

