On My Mind

Posted: March 27, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , ,

I have more to say than a verse to hold
A few short lines
of verse of old
A few letter words that slide and play
As the wet tongue
curls up that way
Just as line or two abruptly stopped
echoes right back
from high mountain tops
I will hear inside my head the word
As I ponder that
that I’ve just heard
I hurry to write down just what I said
So someday they
will be loudly read
Not forgot but shouted echoed wide
on the paths and hills
of our country side
The few short words of verse and line
that twist and turn
but so nearly rhyme
Those few words that were only mine
Are now released
to bend other minds.

OC

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Love this, OC!

    I think all writers/poets (professional or amateur) need to release the words in their heads…and they would love for their words to be remembered….and they would love for their words to be meaningful to others.

    Just so’s ya’ know…your poems are enjoyable, thought-provoking, creative and memorable!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you like this. πŸ™‚

      Yes, that is exactly what I wanted to convey, although what I thought might be in a too obscure of way. Perhaps it may be exposing the poet’s frustration in feeling that perhaps what is being said just “twist and turn but so nearly rhyme” but regardless he wants to “bend other minds”. The meter changed all thru and the last lines change to near rhymes that really do more loudly “echo”. And I think more likely remembered. πŸ™‚
      As you know I hate counting syllables and rhymers and I think the meter and rhyme changes were very easily unnoticed. Which is what I intended. I’m with Sandburg, free verse can be done to appear to be structured for those that prefer and enjoy poems that meter rhythm and rhyme.
      I love your comments, Caroline, ((Hugs)). Hope I did that right. OC

      Liked by 1 person

  2. iampeacenow says:

    Wonderful poem and so very true. We want tho capture what comes to us and send it out for others to repeat and remember. Peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. πŸ˜› Happy Hug a Newsman/Newswoman Day!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary P says:

    Yes, my Unfit News Newspaper would be a hit with you, OC!

    Like

Leave a Reply

