Dogs of War

Posted: April 8, 2017 in poem, poet, poetry, politics, war, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Along the way, to better lands
We pass places worthy of our living
We pick our stride, don’t look aside
We deny all the fruits they are giving

We map our route, we have no doubt
We use landmarks named by rhyme and reason
We trudge ahead, we spare the dead
looking for that perfect scene and season

We travel on, when stopped along,
Turning away, all things wild or human
Soon will be the day, I will say
kill them, burn and pillage to my crewman

Swords we hone with sharpening stone
We break bone, slash gut, red flesh and tendon
On knees they cry but life’s denied
Broken bone and bleeding wounds no mending

When we are done, the spoil is won
Women, food and prize are for our taking
We burn the rest, leave mud and mess
Only black smoke left of our cruel making

Pay us for, we are dogs of war
We sell our arm and sword for gold coin
The pain we give, so greed will live
And will deny it was of your doing

DSS

Comments
  1. I love reading your poetry!
    Thank you for sharing it with us!
    HUGS!!!

    Like

  2. iampeacenow says:

    This is so wonderfully written. Powerful. A perfect time to post. peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of your best, DSS! Powerful and profound! Timely!
    HUGS!!!
    PS…Ha! I saw that I’d already been here and thought, “Hmm…did I come by here late on Friday night, after getting home from a concert and twooo many root beers, and comment?! 😮 😛
    Then I saw that I came by a few years ago. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is a re-posted one from over 3 years ago. I just rescheduled it and the few that liked and commented went with it. Sorry, I should of started a new post. Thank you Carolyn for liking it and commenting again 🙂
      Watch those root beers, you never know what a girl will do if she drinks too many of them. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for reposting it! I liked seeing that I was here before…it reminds me that I’ve been enjoying your writing for years…w-a-y back to Xanga even!
        And your words are always worth re-reading. Or as Elmer Fudd would say “we-weading”! 😉

        Yes, I’m told I’m even funner and funnier after a few root beers! 😉 😀
        HUGS!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

