Stay My April Rain

Posted: April 29, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, Seasons, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

How can I not sing about rain
It is April
If only for a few more days
Cloudy skies
wet sidewalks, soaking grass
raise me.
Pull me up  from the trenches
Tickle my face and back of my neck
It may be the end of drought
the rising of small creeks
the flooding of rivers
The joy of the flight of birds
Roofs playing the rhythm and rhyme
of rain drops
Down spouts trickling maple seeds
Stay my April rain
If only for a few more days.

DSS

 

Comments
  1. OOH! I love rain, especially Spring rains! You’ve captured this beautifully, DSS!
    YAY for rain! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. iampeacenow says:

    Wonderful poem to the April rains. I rather like rain myself though there had been moments during the move I wish it would wait. Perhaps we will have May flowers next. Peace always

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

