Unbalanced Fans

Posted: June 6, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, sleep, the mind, writing
Tags: , , ,

With the flip of the wall switch, the room went dark and silent. Only the fading click, click, click of the slowing unbalanced ceiling fan remained. With each receding five blade revolution the day, too, was finally winding down to an end. I carefully find my way to the corner edge of the bed spread and tight cotton sheets and collapse into bed.

Bacon, eggs, sesame seed toast and orange marmalade, I think I can smell it but I must just be dreaming of breakfast. I roll over, kicking, unwrapping the sheet from around my legs and lay with knees together, back straight and slowly realign each vertebra with a relieving snap, crackle or pop.  Jeez, it seemed I had just gotten to sleep.

I had been under the mistaken belief that retirement included 8 full hours of undisturbed sleep each night. Not so. Your mind is the last to get the message. It has no intentions of retiring. I was right, just as I suspected, only my body was worn out.

Such in the life of John

 

 

 

Comments
  1. iampeacenow says:

    Happy Retirement! I feel I’m behind. I knew you had mentioned it at some point but didn’t realize it was official. People view retirement with many different feelings. I hope yours is filled with just what you want it to be – rest, travel, hobbies, etc – whatever makes you happy. Our bodies most certainly remind us of our age – don’t they. peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OHMYGOSH and YAY! Happy Retirement, John! 🙂 (Are OC, E, and DSS retired, too? Or just tired? (*snort*)

    I hope this new phase of your life is filled with adventure, fun, and joy! And hope you can get your sleep in sync with your new, different schedule! 🙂

    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I’ve been AWOL from WP for a week…but I’m b-a-a-c-k and playing catch-up! 😀 Thanks for checking in on me! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. DSS-Yeah, what is it about this sleep thing that can be such torture on any given night? I used to be able to sleep anywhere and at anytime but such is not the case at present. The only things that give me a goodnight’s rest are good, hard sex or a good, hard run! The trials and tribulations of the autumn of life…XO DWD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

