Where Thoughts Are Born

Posted: July 1, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, the mind, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

Beyond the shade of evening light
and far from the brilliance of stars
there is a place where thoughts are born
and where they go when dimmed.

It is a place where no man can go
not flesh nor soul or ghost
It is where all dreams are made
and where poems reign as king

Poems within transparent books
Of words from thoughts unseen
When opened the words pierce the poet’s skull
and forms the verse he sees

Books only opened up by love
or peace or hate and jealousy
Pages turned by an emotional muse
Who throws them out at lightning speed

Thoughts caught behind wide green tinted eyes
Squarely neatly within hollow porous bone
Thoughts caught by a searching willing soul
Who believes his careful words are all his own

DSS

Comments
  1. This is so beautiful and profound it brought tears to my eyes, DSS! 🙂
    Poetry has been so imporant to me, all of my life…from nursery rhymes as a preschooler, to the poetry I read today. 🙂
    E. E. Cummings was one of the reasons I attemped to write poetry when I was a little girl. 🙂
    Thank you for being a poet, J! and for sharing your heart, soul, and mind in your poetry! Your poetry adds beauty and fun and wisdom to my world AND gets my brain in gear! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you enjoyed this! 🙂 I enjoy your work, too.!! 🙂

      I,too, was a bit influenced by e.e. , loved his strategic and what he makes to appear as disregard to punctuation and capitalization. my sister had a few of his poems high-lighted or circled in a poetry book she was given. his poem “may I feel,said he” which wasn’t in her book, but I found later,still makes me moist 😀

      DSS

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! 🙂

        Oh, man! That’s one of my fav e.e. cummings poems! But I don’t know of any of his ooems I don’t like! 🙂

        Now I’m thinking of one of his entitled…”i have found what you are like”. 🙂

        Ooh, also, love his “i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart)” 🙂

        HUGS and Happy Day to you and your Sweetie! Hope you 2 are having a great whee-kend! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

