Month of July

Posted: July 5, 2017 in free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , ,

July, it feels like a new start or it feels we are reaching the end. July, the seventh month, the half way there to the end. Was January that long ago? Is December that long to come?

We plow through the month like a carton of cigarettes and we are chain smokers. Leaving the remnants of ourselves, the ones we love and our work in over-filled ashtrays. We are all different. There are the smokers and the non-smokers. We all have our used up leftovers we leave behind.

We non-smokers have our own useless disposed of hours and days, too. Whether we treat the month like a case of Aquafina, Budweiser or a damn giant jar of Pistachios, we consume the days and at the end of the month what we have to show for it may be just a few dozen plastic bottles or aluminum cans for the re-cycle or our ashtrays are only filled with green tinted lightly salted nut shells. And you that suck on sunflower seeds all month and spit out the hulls on the pickup floorboards, I have no sympathy for ya. You probably only have a month of mess to clean up.

July, we always start it out with fireworks, red,white and blue, good intentions and picnics and end the month with the garbage cans full of watermelon rinds, potato salad and the drive-way covered with black burnt spots that don’t wash off until we find ourselves in the dog days of August.

July, a very hot and messy month. It’s not like any of the others. It is really hard to get anything useful done in July. An interesting month of time.

E

 

Comments
  1. Yes, E, you are so right! And the way you described July is so vivid we can all relate! Excellent write, E! πŸ™‚

    Hey, use the rest of July to take naps, drink cold drinks, daydream, swim, write poems, and whatever else floats your boat! πŸ˜‰

    July is one of my favorite months (for several personal reasons), and besides that, I figure if we can make it through the hot and humid of July we can make it through the rest of the year!

    OOH…less than 6 months and Santy Claus is coming to town!!! πŸ˜› I’m ready to see him! πŸ˜€
    Cool HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Carolina, you are being too kind on this one. I really don’t know what the hell I’m talking about here.

    Now what’s some of those personal reasons why you like July? And I’ve heard from OC that you are usually on Santa’s naughty list by January 2nd. Or are you on Santa’s naughty list for a personal thing that you’ve done in July ? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! Well, I really knew what the hell you were taling about! πŸ˜€

      And maybe July HAS to be hot and messy so it will be remembered! πŸ˜‰ Or so the cold winter snowy months will be appreciated! πŸ˜€ ???

      HA! Well, I’m usually on Santy’s next-years Naughty List by 1 a.m. on December 26th each year. And OC is right there on the list with me! πŸ˜›

      A few of the reasons why I love July…
      #1. (and the main one!) The people I love who were born in July (I’m so glad they were born!)!
      2. July storms and rain!
      3. Sitting outside on a July night, with some watermelon, or a cold drink, or homemade ice cream and commuing with the moon and stars!
      4. Other fun things to do in July that make a person sweat! πŸ˜‰
      5. Ha! It would be a good month for me to travel to Antartica! πŸ˜€
      6. All the memories of past Julys…sigh. πŸ™‚

      I’ve written some poems about July…I should find them and post them before the month flies by! πŸ™‚
      More HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ACK – it’s so damn hot, though. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  4. iampeacenow says:

    And very interesting thoughts on July! It does indeed start off with a bang. I’m no fan of the heat. Maybe I was in my younger years but certainly not for a very long time. It’s very true we just use up our days/ our hours/ our time. Some use it all in a more productive way. July has come so quickly regardless. I wish it could all slow down but the only way to make time is slow is to wait for something very, very important…. Or for time to get off work! peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been super busy the past few days. But saw on my e-mail on my intelligent phone that OC put up a new blog post. Came by tonight to read and comment and I can’t find it. It is gone. 😦

    Well, give OC a hug for me! I love when he blogs! πŸ˜€

    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

