Silent Spring’s Ballet

Posted: July 18, 2017 in Aircraft, Flying, free verse, poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

The quiet morning’s sounds of dog barks and bird songs were broken by the cranking whine, stuttered start and roar of 600 horsepower round engines. Two more spray planes take off to the south. From my window I watch the planes climb to only tree top level and disappear beyond the close horizon.
Another early beginning to take advantage of the calm winds and light turbulence that will only last a precious few hours on hot summer days like these. What will the enemy be today, green bugs, corn borers or ravenous grasshoppers? Miles away from here the planes will perform their low level ballet spreading their fog from one end of the fields to the other. At the end of each pass a short climb, a quick bank and a slow roll to an opposite turn. The chandelle complete, a dive over or under the power lines and aligned for another five foot high pass. The noise, precision and grace are spell binding and impossible to let pass without stopping to watch. Very beautiful, at least for a temporarily earth bound pilot like me. Emptied, they will soon return to port.
I will hear them first as they fly downwind directly over our home. The change of engine and prop pitch as they pass adds to the pulse of my chest. They must do this to tease me. Damn its hard work but I know they are having fun.

Such is the life of John

Comments
  1. Aw, I love this wonderful silent ballet by Spring! And you weaved your words so beautifully…you got my senses involved! Such vivid word pics and sounds!
    I have never flown a plane (just flown IN them). And I’m sure the world is very glad I have never flown a plane! (HA and you are all welcome! πŸ˜€ ) But, every time a flying “machine” of any kind flies overhead, I stop and watch it. It gives me a thrill! Thinking of being up in that small plane, large plane, helicopter (etc) flying among the clouds, looking down on the beautiful earth…Wow! (sigh) πŸ™‚
    Oh, I do the same with birds. I stop and watch them fly! I have a thing about flying!
    Great write, J!
    HUGS and Happy Hump Day!!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ret MP says:

    love when you write from inside the cockpit; your ear, the sound, the roll, the smells…even though you are on the ground, your perspective comes from heights we cannot know. – Ret

    Liked by 1 person

  3. iampeacenow says:

    Absolutely wonderful description. I can imagine the lure of those engines. I also have to look up into the sky whenever I hear or see a plane. There is something about the command of air and gravity that is mesmerizing. peace to you

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful writing πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

