Inland Seagull

Posted: August 27, 2016 in poem, poet, poetry
Tags: , ,

This week in the life of John ( as if anyone gives a damn)

The last couple weeks I have been to Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Texas, Colorado, Oklahoma, Illinois  and of course the Ol’faithful and backward Kansas.

I’m noticing a trend, I have reached an age where young clerks and waitresses are calling me “Hon” ,”Honey”, “Darlin” or “Sweetheart”. It strikes me in a bad way whenever I am called any of “those names”. I feel it is condescending, sort of being familiar. I don’t mind being called Sir. But man if you knew me, I ain’t no Honey, Hon or Sweetheart. It happened to me three times in three different states this week. I think it may become a trend in the service industry.  I can stand it and say nothing, I may just give them a puzzled look when they call me that. I don’t think I look that old to be called a name usually reserved for older gentlemen in open back gowns residing in hospital rooms or nursing homes that may need a sympathetic word or two to soothe their physical or mental pain.  I can remain silent when I am called that, but OC, if he notices it, he comes out and goes a little ape-shit wild.

It was Colorado, an airport that I’m sure hundreds of thousands of travelers pass through each day. All walks of life are seen there. I waited in line to pay for my purchase and paid close attention to what the girl clerk was calling the customers. Overwhelming nothing, not one of “those names”. Tens of people waited on, not one “name”. I step up to the cash register and maybe took a little longer than the others to count out my change, but not more than a second or two, and it came “Thank you Honnnn”,  and a weak smile.  I felt puzzled by it, but OC took over… and asks “What did you call me? ” and she sort of smiled and says “Honey”. And OC says ” Thank you Baby, and you smell good and have very nice Tits” .

I , of course was appalled and turned to quickly leave. The older gentleman waiting directly behind me was laughing his ass off and said “Right on Brother!!” He and OC traded fist bumps. Maybe that will become a trend.

Such is the life of John

(OC reappeared about a year ago. To learn more about my other alter-egos , go to my About page)

Comments
  1. slmret says:

    I react badly when somebody calls me “Miss” for lack of a better term — I’d rather be called “Maam,” but that has become politically incorrect — what else can I do but grti my teeth and bear it?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know, Janet. I’ve answered “Hon” with “Hi, my name is John, what’s yours.” that startles them a little bit. That’s the most polite, I think. I don’t believe we should just let them get away with it. They need to know it is impolite.

      Like

  2. Zakiah says:

    I cannot stand anyone calling me hon or honey. I get so angry that I have to let the wait staff know. It happened at the country club a couple of times, and I lost it. Now they know. But in other places, I control my anger a little bit. But I always tell them, “don’t call me that!”

    I loved OC’s answer to being called hon!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ret MP says:

    I HATE BEING CALLED HON> by a man, who doesn’t know me. What if a man who didn’t know you called you Hon? What would you say then?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ha! If a man called me Hon. I don’t know, maybe “not me Brother!” I don’t think I’d mention his Tits….. though. 🙂

    Like

  5. iampeacenow says:

    I work with the public and notice some people just call everyone something – hon, honey, sweetheart, sugar, sis, etc. I’m usually not bothered if they’ve been in many times and I just know they call everyone that. Occasionally it happens to me in public. I more think of it as saying something about them than saying something about me. I immediately think of Flo from the show Mel’s Diner. … Peace

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can recognize the “Flo’s” I don’t mind them, indeed I do like them a lot but there are a lot of “youngsters” that see older people (just guessing, those over 60) as old, senile and barely functioning and in their own mind think they have to sink down to a different level to patronize them simply because in their eyes they see them as old, grey and feeble. A lot of younger people are not sensitive to this because of their young age and are not treated that way themselves. Seniors are not seen as wise and respected in our American society. They are seen as old, a burden and in the way by most of the younger generations. It’s a fact. And I, as a virile, intelligent and active “over 60” will not let these insensitive, conceded little “whipper-snappers” 🙂 disrespect me when they have no idea who I am, what I’ve accomplished or what I’m capable of…. End of rant by OC.

      Like

  6. YAY for OC! I love him and his feisty-ness! 😀
    Ha! I don’t mind any of the “nicknames” or terms of endearment by “strangers”…I just always call them one in return! 😉 😛 Females can get away with that! 😀
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    Like

    • You, I know you would never say anything bad that might scare or embarrass anyone but it feels good sometimes just to let loose. You are a nice person!

      Where have you been! OC and DSS have been worried sick about ya! You have got a lot of ‘planing to do with those boys.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Tell OC and DSS ‘thank you muchly’! I updated my blog today to tell of my AWOLness! 🙂
        Yes, I try to never scare anyone or be mean or embarrass them…but I did embarrass Dracula once…I encouraged him to please bite my neck! 😉 😀
        HUGS!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

