fading pencil

Posted: September 16, 2017 in poem, poet, poetry, writing
Tags: , , ,

Some leave with their words kept safely in tightly bound books
with slick covers and pictures of black and white pensive faces
Books that might be bought, autographed and read or perhaps not.
And some poets die with their words only kept on yellow legal tablets stacked in metal file drawers
only as dreams written by fading pencil lead or blotted ink,
written but waiting to be found.
Some die and are remembered
Some die and are discovered
We seldom meet poets or seek them out,
Only after we hear their well-worded tributes
by well-meaning newspaper obituary writers
and read a few beautiful verses of their perhaps long forgotten work
that is vaguely familiar but remembered
do we say, “damn, he lived among us, did we notice”?
How fortunate we have been to have heard the voices of Frost, Sandburg, cummings, Kerouac, Angelou and Ashbery,
Poems and their poets, like music, are meant to be heard.

DSS

Comments
  1. Your poem made me cry. Because it’s so beautiful, so true.
    And because of all the poets who have influenced my life…who have made me laugh and smile, made me think, made me feel deep emotions, made me feel less alone (to know they think and feel like I do), who have led me to friends who live and breathe poetry, too, and etc.! 🙂

    Music is poetry and poetry is music, to me. 🙂

    You are one of the poets who has influenced my life in positive ways! Thank you, J! 🙂 Your poetry is always a joy to read and ponder!

    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…one of my fav writers/poets Anais Nin said, “We write to taste life twice. In the moment and in retrospection.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PPS…all of the poets you named are favs of mine! Especially that Mr. Jack Kerouac! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Here’s something I found the other day, I think you’ll like it, “https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LLpNKo09Xk” .

      makes me think of “Dean Mor-i-ar-ty” .

      I watched this late night show with my old man, in I think 1960 or 61.

      Thanks for reading my stuff, Sweet C!

      Like

Leave a Reply

